Your Potential Biden Replacements Can Be Found in Georgia

They just, you know, have to win first.

Will Leitch
5 min readJul 12, 2022

--

I am a Joe Biden fan. I even have a little bobblehead of him on my desk, put there over the summer of 2020, when the world looked like it was falling apart, when I was desperate for someone who would just be a normal President, who would make some mistakes but would get the big stuff right and generally be a person with his heart in the right place — someone like Biden. I was very hopeful. After Biden was elected, I must stay, I really did believe we’d be in a better place by now than we are. Some of that is Biden’s fault; most of it, I’d argue, isn’t. But that doesn’t really matter. We’re here now. And there’s a Presidential election coming, very soon, that could be even more important and vital to the state of the American democratic experiment than the last two. Which is really saying something.

With the stakes this high, and Biden’s approval rating so low (lower, jaw-droppingly, than Trump’s), Democrats are starting to worry. A New York Times story Monday revealed that 64 percent of Democrats don’t want Biden to be the nominee, and with approval numbers like his, it’s not difficult to see why. One of Biden’s primary campaign promises was that he would try to make the Presidency normal again, and I’d argue he’s done that: Everyone’s generally…

--

--

Will Leitch

Author of six books, including “How Lucky” and "The Time Has Come." NYMag/MLB.. Founder, Deadspin. https://williamfleitch.substack.com