So You’ve Made It Through Covid-19. Now What?

What responsibilities do we have now?

Will Leitch
4 min readJun 27, 2022

--

As of today, it has been 16 days since I contracted Covid-19. I have not had any symptoms in 12 days, I’ve been fully 100 percent recovered physically (I’m back to my daily five-mile runs) and am, by any measure or recommendation, free to be back around other people again. I made it.

So, now what?

This was the first time I had contracted Covid-19, and I was fully vaccinated and received my first booster back in November 2021. (I am 46 years old and not yet eligible for my second booster.) There is pervasive anecdotal evidence that those, like me, who had never been infected before are finally having their number called: Surely there are people in your life who have tested positive during this most recent wave without ever having done so before. All told, thanks to Moderna and the good fortune of not being immunocompromised, it was not all that physically taxing: I had a fever on the first day, I was achy for a day or two after that, then I was fine. But now, I’m through it. So, does that mean I am done with Covid-19?

It doesn’t seem that way. An October 2021 study said you were clear for three months, at least, but that was before Omicron; a non-peer-reviewed study found some people getting Covid-19 as soon as 20 days after

--

--

Will Leitch

Author of six books, including “How Lucky” and "The Time Has Come." NYMag/MLB.. Founder, Deadspin. https://williamfleitch.substack.com