Grunge Legend Joe Biden Gives a Shoutout to the Lamestains in the Wack Slacks

Will Leitch
5 min readOct 20, 2020
YouTube

This election season, this entire cursed year, has worn me down to such a nub that my emotions aren’t just on my sleeve, they’re dripping off the end of my fingers like motor oil. And I can prove it. Because this Joe Biden ad just about made me cry.

This fact is, well, it’s rather pathetic. But it’s also true. The ad, titled “The Blind Pig,” features Joe Malcoun, co-owner of the titular Blind Pig, a rock venue in Ann Arbor, Michigan, a fabled rock haunt that hosted, among many others, Iggy Pop, R.E.M. and Nirvana, who called it their “number one venue of choice anywhere, ever.” Malcoun talks about how his venue has been empty since March and is in serious danger of shutting down, a fact he (quite rightly, I’d argue) blames on Donald Trump’s feckless reaction to the pandemic. As someone who counts live music shows as one of the things he misses most desperately in 2020, the ad makes me righteously furious, as was intended.

But mostly, in its use of The Pixies and the Beastie Boys’ “Sabotage” — which the band licensed to the…

--

--

Will Leitch

Author of six books, including “How Lucky” and "The Time Has Come." NYMag/MLB.. Founder, Deadspin. https://williamfleitch.substack.com